Security Alert: New Device Added

Authy users may receive a “Security Alert” notification email when adding a new device to an Authy account. The alert email includes the device name and location to help you identify it as an approved device. 

If you did not add this device to your Authy account

Your account may have been compromised. We recommend you take the following steps immediately:

Step 1: Remove the new device from your account.

  1. Access Settings in the Authy app.
  2. Navigate to the Devices tab.
  3. Select the new device to see its information.
  4. Select the option to remove this device.
     
    For a full walkthrough, see Remove a Device from your Authy Account.

Step 2: Disable multi-device in the Authy app.

  1. Access Settings in the Authy app.
  2. Navigate to the Devices tab.
  3. Uncheck or switch the Multi-device toggle to turn this feature off.
     
    For a full walkthrough, see Enable or Disable Authy Multi-Device.

Step 3: Change your Authy backups password.

  1. Access Settings in the Authy app.
  2. Navigate to the Accounts tab.
  3. Select the Change password option, and then follow the prompts to update your backups password.
    Note: Authy never stores backups passwords for your security, so make sure you write it down somewhere safe, and/or use a password only you know.
     
    For a full walkthrough, see Changing the Authy Backups Password.

Notice: If you cannot access your Authy account, and are unable to perform the steps above, we recommend you immediately contact Authy support. One of our specialists will respond to your request, and work with you to get your Authy account back up and running again.

If you were the one who added the device

No further action is required.

Have more questions? Submit a request